Chance Encounters

I went for a (5-mile) walk with my mother this evening and met some lovely fauna along the way, which I did my best to document without scaring them too much!

IMG_4193

I’m especially proud of this one because I managed to capture the lovely orange evening sunbeams, even if the bunny is a little understated in the photo. It captures the serenity of the evening even without the addition of the bunny.

IMG_4185/

Although this one is not the best laid out and could do with a little cropping, I was excited that I actually caught the bunny in mid-leap since he was moving at such a fast clip.

IMG_4173

I almost chose this photo for my Photography 101 photo assignment of “Street,” but I felt that as pretty as it is, it is still a pretty conventional view of a road and that it could still be shared here.

IMG_4209

I was disappointed to find that the camera had focused on the leaf and not the butterfly – but I was still glad to have captured this little beauty as the majority of the butterflies in the area fluttered away as soon as I entered a five foot radius of their surroundings!

IMG_4195

I almost used this one for my street assignment as well! I was very happy with the capturing of the sun – but the rest of the photo wasn’t quite up to par. It was still worthy of sharing!

IMG_4215

I was inspired the other day by Merry Hearts Medicine’s post about strange photographer selfies and thought this was a fun photo to capture! I almost considered using this for the Photography 101 Water Assignment, but figured I could take something better tomorrow. I found a deep puddle filled with miniscule tadpoles, and in trying to capture them in my shadow, I ended up take a selfie (kinda)!

IMG_4217

At first glance this photo may be a little confusing and I almost didn’t share it because it’s not great photography but since this is my blog and I figured I’d share my findings from my walk, I wanted to a say a little bit about this moss. The moss is in the second stage of its life cycle – the sporophytic stage. You can tell because of the little stalks sticking out of it (in this picture, the yellow dots). The sporophytic generation is a non-dominant occurrence, meaning most of the time the moss looks normal. It also means the plant is diploid – or has two sets of chromosomes (like humans, and most things) – instead of being haploid like it normally is.

I only thought this was worth sharing because I actually knew this information. I took AP Biology my senior year and had the most wonderful teacher – and for some reason all the info about plants really stuck with me. I knew he would be pleased that I retained this useful piece of information and was able to point it out to myself, and I thought it was fun that I could recognize it.

Anyway enough of me spouting scientific jargon at you. I hope you enjoyed these (out of order) photos of my little adventure this evening!

3 thoughts on “Chance Encounters

  1. Pingback: Strange Photographer Selfies | Merry Hearts Medicine

  2. I tried to take a photo like that in a puddle to add another selfie to the post you mentioned, but I wasn’t happy enough with it to use it. Now seeing YOUR post has inspired me to use it! I’m not sure if it’s worth putting on there, but I liked yours — especially with the tadpoles.

    I’m going to go add that photo to my selfies post. Thanks for looking at my blog.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Great photos, I really like the one of the bunny mid hop. And about the moss my boyfriend is a biologist and he tells me all sorts of stuff about plants I always like it when I’ve remembered something and am able to recount it when I see said plant. Even though biology is not my strong point I do think it can be very interesting. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

